2016 Presidential $1 Coins Designs | New Coin Releases

Category Archives: 2016 Presidential $1 Coins Designs

United States Mint Announces 2016 Presidential $1 Coins Designs

WASHINGTON – The United States Mint (Mint) today officially announced the designs that will appear on the 2016 Presidential $1 Coins honoring former Presidents Richard M. Nixon and Gerald R. Ford.

The coins’ obverses (heads side) were designed and sculpted by the following talented United States Mint Sculptor-Engravers:

  • Richard M. Nixon – Obverse Designer and Sculptor: United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart
  • Gerald R. Ford – Obverse Designer and Sculptor: United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Phebe Hemphill

Inscriptions on the obverse of each coin include the president’s name, term in office, the order in which he served, and “IN GOD WE TRUST.”

The coins’ reverses (tails side) feature a rendition of the Statue of Liberty, also designed and sculpted by Everhart. Inscriptions on the reverse are “$1” and “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.” The year of minting or issuance, the mint mark, and “E PLURIBUS UNUM” are incused on the edge of the coins.

Legislated by Public Law 109-145, the Presidential $1 Coin Program was limited to deceased presidents with the provision that there is at least a two-year period following the date of the death of the President before a coin can be issued. Hence, President Jimmy Carter, who is still living, is ineligible for a Presidential $1 Coin in 2016. President Reagan, the next president to serve after Carter, passed away in 2004 and is thus eligible to be commemorated under paragraph (2)(E).

Designs for the Ronald Reagan Presidential $1 Coin and the corresponding Nancy Reagan First Spouse Gold Coin will be announced on Feb. 6, 2016, the 105th anniversary of President Reagan’s birth.

The release of the Ronald Reagan Presidential $1 Coin will mark the end of the program honoring our Nation’s presidents. Launched in 2007, the Presidential $1 Coin Program features coins with bold, dramatic portraits, unique edge-lettered inscriptions and a common reverse design of the iconic Statue of Liberty. Since the beginning of the program, the Mint has issued four coins annually in the order in which the presidents served in office, with three coins being released in 2016.